Dublin City Council Opposes Use of Shannon Airport by US Troops

Shannonwatch welcomes the passing of a motion by Dublin City Council supporting calls to terminate the use of Shannon Airport by US troops. The motion which was proposed by Cllr. Larry O’Toole of Sinn Fein at the request of PANA (the Peace and Neutrality Alliance) states

“That this Council supports the Irish Peace Movement’s campaign to terminate the use of Shannon Airport by US troops on their way to and from the wars in Afghanistan and Iraq and calls for Shannon Airport to be established an an international hub for the storage and distribution of emergency humanitarian supplies as outlined in the Programme for Government”

"This motion reflects the fact that there is widespread public and political opposition to the use of Shannon to facilitate U.S. wars" said a Shannonwatch spokesperson. "There are still over 90 troop and other military flights landing at the airport every month, and this is without the permission of the Irish people. A decade of wars in Iraq and Afghanistan have resulted in untold human suffering, political instability and widespread profiteering and corruption. It is high time Irish involvement in this was ended.

Roger Cole, Chair of PANA said that the resolution passed by Dublin City Council resolution reflects the continuing opposition of the people to the destruction of Irish neutrality and this state’s support for war. "What the Irish people want is jobs at home and the end to war. We are convinced that this is a view widely shared by people throughout the rest of Europe and the USA. The Hiroshima Day event this August 6 and the continuing monthly protests on the second Sunday of every month at Shannon Airport shows that the peace movement continues its struggle.”

In 2008 Shannon Town Council, Galway City Council, Cork City Council, Limerick City Council, Derry City Council and Kilkenny County Council passed motions opposing the use of Irish airports for rendition flights. PANA and Shannonwatch hope this latest motion will be passed by these and other councils throughout the 32 counties.

Share this